Every state has adopted their own sets of laws regarding minimum levels of auto insurance. North Carolina has adopted the following limits as the minimums for insurance, 30/60/25. What these translate to are a maximum of $30,000 per individual involved in an accident up to a maximum of $60,000 for each accident. It also has a $25,000 allotment for property damage you may have caused.
Compare North Carolina Auto Insurance Quotes – Save 40% or More
However, remember, this is the bare minimum required by state. Additional liability insurance or other forms of coverage might be helpful. For example, many drivers opt for collision and comprehensive to protect their own cars. You pay a deductible, and the insurance company takes care of the rest up to the fair market value of your car.
North Carolina is not a no-fault state, and does not require you to have personal injury protection.
What Affects Your Auto Insurance Quotes in North Carolina (NC)?
Personal Injury Protection is a lot like liability insurance, except that it covers you, the policyholder up to the limits you choose when you get the policy. This kind of coverage is extended to you regardless of who is at fault, hence the phrase “No-fault insurance”.
NC Teen Auto Insurance – Driving Rules, Requirements & Drivers License
As many other states have done, North Carolina has implemented a GDL (Graduated Driver Licensing) program. It works by giving inexperienced drivers some base driving privileges, and increasing the amount of privileges as they get more experienced. This is to reduce the amount of accidents caused by inexperienced teen drivers.
In order to apply for a limited learner’s permit, teens need to:
- Be at least 15, but no older than 18 years of age
- Provide proper documentation (Social Security Card, Proof of Residency)
- Finish and pass a state-approved driver’s ed. Program.
- Present a GED, high school diploma or driving eligibility certificate
- Take and pass written, vision, and signs exams
In order to obtain a Limited Provisional License, teens must have held a learner’s permit for at least 1 year, and maintained a crystal clear driving history.
In addition to these conditions, the following restrictions apply to drivers with learner’s permits and limited provisional licenses:
Limited Learner’s Permit:
- All passengers must wear a seatbelt
- Only the supervising driver can sit in the front passenger’s seat
- A curfew of 9 pm to 5 am is imposed during the first 6 months, where drivers cannot drive
- Learner’s permit holders can only drive when accompanied by a supervising driver who has had their license for a minimum of 5 years
Limited Provisional License:
- May drive unsupervised between the hours of 5 am and 9 pm as well as any time if they are going to work, volunteer, or have an emergency situation
- Can only drive between the hours of 9 pm and 5 am with a supervising driver with them, unless it is for the above mentioned reasons
- Banned from using a cell phone while driving for any reason
- Cannot transport more than one passenger under 21 at a time, with the exception of family members unless they are accompanied by a supervising driver that is at least 21 years old
The violation of any of these terms can result in a suspension or delay of driving privileges. View more information here.North Carolina State Facts
NC Vehicle Registration